top of page

NICOLE SANFILIPPO: DREAM HOOPS by Kaleigh Silverstein

Nicole Sanfilippo is paving her way in the world of Ardsley Athletics and hoping to bring her team far in the 2019-20 season! Sanfilippo is a sophomore who is beginning her second season on Ardsley’s girls varsity basketball. She has been playing basketball for nine years and only hopes to improve as the season goes on.


When asked what her personal goal for the season is, Sanfilippo replied with “my goal is to become a 1000 point scorer by the end of my high school career and just get better as a whole.” We certainly can’t wait to see that happen in the next few years!


In the past, the team hasn’t had too much luck during the season, but this year “the hope is to come back very strong and blow people out of their socks” and Sanfilippo believes that “this year, we are gonna surprise people.’’ She explains that “what me and the team are looking forward to is really changing the culture and impressing the people who are doubting that we will be anything.”


Aside from showing those other teams who’s boss, Nicole says that “we all just want to have a really fun season while at the same time winning some games.” In order to play well, a team should have good chemistry and get along well and according to Sanfilippo, that’s not a problem at all. She explains that “the best part of playing with my team are my teammates. They are really caring and funny girls and they can make anyone laugh. We all love being around each other and we all lift each other up.”


Playing a sport can help a person with so many parts of their life, including health, social life, and developing important skills. Sanfilippo told me how basketball helped many aspects of her life, like “in the field of playing basketball, I’d say I have just gotten better. But when it comes to me personally, (basketball) gave me a strong work ethic. I had to work hard to get where I am and that helps with a lot of things outside of just basketball.”

Outside of basketball, Sanfilippo also enjoys spending time with friends and family, working out, and watching Netflix. For now though, Nicole is completely focused on basketball. She even hopes that one day she’ll be playing basketball once she graduates or possibly in college. I think I speak for all of Ardsley when I say that we can’t wait to see where Nicole Sanfilippo goes in her world of basketball.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page