top of page

REFLECTION ON THE BEGINNING OF THE SCHOOL YEAR by Isabelle Kellezi


Credit: EdSurge

If you would’ve asked me last year what my favorite day of the week was, I would’ve said Friday. Ask me now, the answer is Monday. This has all to do with the fact that I’m in the Gold Cohort, so on Mondays and Tuesdays I am physically in school.


Concerned with safety, over the summer my family struggled when choosing between all remote or Hybrid learning—I’m so glad we went Hybrid.


The first day of school for the Gold group was unlike anything I’ve experienced before. Not only were we in masks, but it was raining, humid, and uncomfortably hot. Stepping into the building to see classmates and teachers who I hadn’t seen since March overrode the discomfort caused by the weather and spirits soared high for the entire student body. It was definitely strange that the first thing I saw was the gym set up the way it usually is for regents or final exams—endless rows of desks set far apart. The next thing I noticed were the arrows on the ground, limiting certain hallways and stairwells to go in only one direction. Although I am a senior, maneuvering around was quite difficult, especially when it came to figuring out which stairs I could and couldn’t use. I honestly felt like a freshman.


In the first week of school, I already knew that I preferred in-person classes and the biggest reason was because I could interact with my peers. In September, due to a travel commitment, I had to self-quarantine for two weeks and was temporarily in the Red cohort. I realized that Red students are not connected the same way students on Blue and Gold are. During my quarantine, I paid closer attention to the murmurings of conversations happening in class, but I couldn’t fine tune the details of what was being said, leaving me at a disconnect (and with a lot of FOMO). It’s safe to say that I appreciated Gold days much more after my quarantine!


I’ve noticed that when in the building, students are more likely to participate in class than those on Zoom. Speaking in person is far less intimidating (and takes less steps) then having to unmute, watch yourself on camera, and ultimately run the risk of the teacher not even hearing your comment while the rest of the Zoom does. This situation certainly can be thought of as cringe-worthy or embarrassing, but it shouldn’t be and this needs to be normalized. If you say something and the teacher doesn’t hear you, it’s okay! It’s part of the drawbacks that come with using technology. It’s easy to fall back and become an observer, but we must fight this urge and remember that we are all participants.


Wednesdays are my favorite remote learning days because it's the only time I can see my entire class. Interacting with classmates is a huge part of the high school experience and flex days are an opportunity to promote that. Wednesdays have the potential to be a collaborative day. Teachers should consider assigning breakout rooms and mix students from different cohorts so we can interact with peers that we don’t usually see. This would also allow Red students to be integrated into the classroom experience in which they are otherwise missing.


It is important to note that although there was a learning curve at the beginning of the year, both faculty and students have gotten the hang of our new model and it continues to improve week after week.


As for being a senior during this time, it is difficult. We have looked forward to our turn being in the front of The Pack during athletic events and for the athletes, being front and center of the games. Socially, COVID-19 has impacted us in ways unforeseeable. However, as a member of the Senior Board, I know we have been committed to ensuring that AHS can still celebrate our monumental year. We had Ardsley’s first ever Senior Sunrise gathered on the football field a few days before school began and brought in the year together. It was a cloudy day, so we ended up seeing a sky of gray clouds—although rays of sunshine did peak through. Nonetheless, nothing could’ve taken away from the fact that we were together. We also hosted an outdoor movie night! The Ardsley Police Department helped us set up a movie projector and we watched Toy Story—a staple from all of our childhoods. Though we have had our successes, we did have to postpone some traditional events like the Senior BBQ because of COVID-19 regulations. It’s easy to compare this year with years prior and dwell on what we are missing, but wouldn’t we rather be known as the class that can adapt to the environment and make the most of our special year? Showing off our 2EN1OR spirit with every chance we get should be our mission just as we did on that rainy “last” first day of school with Senior decorated cars, matching t-shirts, bracelets, and class of 2021 masks.


Ardsley, we need to be smart and stay safe to protect each other and our families—especially with the holidays approaching. Many of us want to continue having in-person classes and the only way we can do that is by following CDC guidelines. As written on the posters around school, “wear a mask now, so we won’t have to later!”

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page