top of page

MR. SAVINO: AN ARDSLEY PANTHER THROUGH AND THROUGH by Tess Korten

After returning to Ardsley since his high school years, Frank is currently part of the mathematics department and excels in teaching freshmen, sophomores, and juniors.


As we move into the unusual but innovative school year, we can surely say that you never know what you’re gonna get here. Because of this year's craziness, new staff members in Ardsley must be recognized for their flexibility and adaptation to the prevailing remote teaching style. Frank Savino is included in the list of new staff at Ardsley High School. Throughout this interview, we acknowledge Mr. Savino’s past accomplishments in teaching math, details about his past, and even some fun facts!


What made you want to be a teacher?

A couple of things. One, I worked at Ardsley day camp while I was in high school and I really liked working with kids. I thought they were a lot of fun so that made me start thinking about it, but I still wasn’t sure. It was on my radar, but originally I thought about teaching history or social studies because in college I got a B in my math class and it turned me off. Then I ended up transferring colleges, took more math classes, and fell back in love with math. I also did not want a job in front of a computer because it just wouldn’t work with my personality. Plus, it’s very rewarding to help students that are struggling and seeing that “aha” moment. I don’t really think you get that in a lot of other jobs.


How many years have you been teaching? Prior experience?

I did teach last year so this is my second year of teaching. Last year I taught at Bronx High School of Science. I taught pre-calc and algebra 2 trig there.


Where did you go to school?

I went to Binghamton for three semesters then transferred to Manhattan College.


Why Math?

Math is awesome, that’s why! I like teaching math and I like the subject for a couple of reasons. The fact that there is always a method that always works is awesome to me. Plus, I like problem solving and reasoning and just thinking about things from different points of view. There is that idea in other contents, like social studies, as well. I like that aspect of social studies, but something about math and the fact that it always works out is pretty cool.


What's it like to now be a teacher in the same high school where you were once a student?

It takes a little getting used to. I don’t think it hit me all at once, it just hits me in little pieces. Like I’ll be walking into the back which is where I used to park when I was in high school. So that’s weird. But it’s nice to see a lot of familiar faces, a lot of teachers that I’ve had. My dad went to Ardsley High School, my uncles went here, my Grandma on my mom’s side went here so it’s kind of cool to continue that lineage.


What’s your favorite part of teaching?

Getting to interact with my students, weather it be with the content or just finding out about their interests. Talking to students about fantasy football or other stuff and just getting to help them and getting them to that “aha” moment that I mentioned earlier is a great feeling.


What’s been challenging?

I think the most challenging part for me... this may sound cliché, but not having enough time to get everything just the way I want it. I think all teachers struggle with that in the fact that they always think that they can do a lesson better. Especially with this year and everything that’s going on and all the time that it takes. So always thinking that you can do better has been challenging to me.


Fun facts about yourself?

When I was nineteen, I hit a hole in one. That was pretty neat. I also played basketball and baseball for Ardsley in High School. I was actually on the baseball team the year that Ardsley won the section.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page