top of page

HYBRID LEARNING FROM A TEACHER'S PERSPECTIVE by Tess Korten

Surveys, articles and questionnaires concerning the effectiveness of the hybrid learning model have been arranged to face the audience of students. Although crucial, it is more than necessary to check on teachers during this troubling time. Despite the fact that they seem at ease and under control most of the time, this may not be the case. The combination of several classes, three cohorts and working from home may lead to unwanted stress. Six teachers from a different department of Ardsley High School agreed to take part in answering questions regarding the impact hybrid learning has had on them, their teaching and their relationships with students.


What are the challenges of hybrid learning?


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

I definitely have to say access to students. I was just thinking about that right now. A day like today in my class of 27 students where you would normally have fourteen or fifteen students in the classroom, I only had three students in the classroom. So when I’m sitting down to plan lessons and learning activities, I have to ask myself: what can I do regardless of that situation? You’re really limited in some ways with hybrid learning. Hybrid learning is great in that we have much more access to students compared to last year when we were all home but it still comes with its challenges. Another challenge is technology. Several people have wifi issues and access with them is limited. When we think of 2020 in general, a lot of people are just mentally and emotionally drained. School aside, I think a challenge is getting people motivated to want to get up and do what they have to do.


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

I think the biggest one, and I think this comes from both the teacher’s and students perspective is not being in the building five days a week like we normally would. You know, teachers usually tend to walk around, look at your work and help students in the moment than when our students are home. Not being able to have that daily check in. I think that, in my opinion, is the biggest challenge.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

Trying to make sure that all students, red, gold, and blue are provided with fair, equivalent, meaningful and secure assessments. Trying to maintain the attention of the “Zoomers” who are faced with the challenge of distractions like cell phones, video-games and/or other family members who are at home doing their own thing. Trying to find lab activities that were once mostly hands-on but now must be accessible to all cohorts and COVID-friendly.


Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

I feel like teaching face to face is more personal. When students are in front of you, you can tell how active they are. The daily conversations, the greetings, the goodbyes. Seeing their face on an everyday basis allows you to get to know them better. Being a language teacher is difficult because wearing a mask covers my mouth and muffles the sound of words that should be pronounced in a certain way. Without a mask, students would be able to see my face clearly and imitate the annunciation. So that is definitely a challenge.


Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

With my class, being able to demonstrate. The ladybug works well but it’s not the same as in person demonstrations. I can’t show you your own picture--I think that’s a challenge.


Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

I think it’s obviously more difficult to teach when you have two cohorts--one is online and the other is present in person. From a teaching perspective, I think it’s easier to teach either fully remote or full in the classroom.


What are the successes of hybrid learning?


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

First, teachers definitely have more access to students than in the spring. We have made strides since last year. I think it’s nice to be able to go into the building and interact with your colleagues daily. We can safely meet during our planning period and lunch periods and have conversations. Seeing students and being able to interact with them is tremendous. Interacting with your students is one of the best parts--as a teacher, that is exactly what you want to do. I think the flex learning day is a really good thing that we have and I wouldn’t like to see those go. I think it gives students a nice break and also gives me an opportunity to help students work on certain enrichment activities or for me to check in on students. To add on, flex wednesdays also gives the teachers an opportunity to work together in weekly department meetings.


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

A lot of teachers and students are learning to be adaptable to different situations. In life, it’s good to be adaptable so I think this is a good learning moment. I also think the biggest thing, for my personally and my classes that I’ve noticed is being able to keep track of student work online. Whether that be through google classroom turn ins and submissions or through the unit guides that are posted. I think the unit guides, in my opinion, are something I want to keep doing, after the hybrid model stops.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

From a safety standpoint, hybrid learning is better than a building at max capacity with the potential of a large outbreak. It has also brought partial relief to parents who need their children to be in a physical school environment.

Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

I think the district has done a wonderful job with keeping continuity for the students. I get to see my students every day and that’s huge! With the virus and everything that has been going on, we have consistency and the students have been great about coming on time and showing up every day.

Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

I think it forces you guys to think for yourselves.

Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

I’m surprised at how successful this system has been-- I didn’t have much faith in it. What I’ve seen from my students has been pretty positive.

Do you feel that Ardsley is handling the situation well?


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

I think Ardsley is doing the best that it can do. We have a great department here working on keeping the school clean and our superintendent ensures the safety of students attending in-person attendance. I have seen different things going on in other districts that aren’t as effective. The way that the schedule is right now with the blue red and gold cohort and e-flex day has allowed Ardsley to more effectively handle things.


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

Yeah. I mean I think it’s a tough spot for anyone to be in. Any school district. There’s no playbook on what to do. Like a fire drill--there’s a standard procedure to follow. This has never happened.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

These are troubled times with a virus whose biology is barely understood, its transmission behavior is barely understood and it is also evolving as we read this article. Whether decisions that Ardsley makes are correct or not can more accurately be judged retrospectively once we are out of COVID times. I’m thankful that these decisions are not in my hands but hope that the mental and physical well-being of teachers and students is always given a high priority.

Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

I definitely think so. I have children in other districts and I’m in social media groups where I hear about how different school districts are handling the situation and I feel that Ardsley is doing a tremendous job.

Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

Comparatively to other schools, yes.

Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

I think the commitment from the faculty and the students has been pretty good. I’m impressed compared to the spring of how successful we’ve been to this point. Although unfortunate, we still have to worry about safety with the virus.


Do you feel engaged with your students?


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

Yeah I think so. Less than normal years but I think that’s kind of to be expected. Personally, if I was in front of the computer screen all day, I’d probably check out from time to time which I think is a reasonable thing. Obviously you want to avoid that and I avoid that by calling on people, as much as they probably hate it.


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

Yes, I do. It’s limited and some days there is more engagement than others but I do feel like I’ve been able to successfully engage with my students.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

Many of my students are in little boxes on my computer screen, some I’ve never met in the physical world. My live students are in my room 6 feet from each other and their facial expressions are concealed by masks. I too wear a mask and teach behind a plexiglass shield. These are indeed strange and different times. I’m used to being very expressive, loud, using props to demonstrate things, going up and down rows and being an entertainer-type educator. To maintain engagement is a struggle especially with the Zoomers because of distractions. Students that are in class seem less talkative with each other and less likely to answer questions in class compared to pre-Covid times.

Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

I do. At first it was an adjustment and it was strange for me to cater to both groups. I wanted to make sure that I could reach and support the students online and the students in person sufficiently and equally. I also wasn’t used to zooming but now I feel good about it.

Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

With some kids, yes. I think it’s because I try to check in with all of you every class. I think the kids who succeed will always succeed and the kids who struggle will always struggle--the current model just makes it more challenging. I also feel disengaged with students who need more attention as well.


Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

Yes but I would feel more engaged if they were right in front of me. I just had a class with eight kids and it was like the old days. I haven’t had that many students in front of me in quite some time. I do feel my students are engaged but I’ve had students honestly many times admit to me that it’s difficult to focus in the current model.


How stressful do you find teaching hybrid learning?


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

That’s a funny question actually. My first year of teaching was last year and I don’t know if you’ve ever had a first year teacher or spoken to anyone who’s a first-year teacher but your first year is pretty crazy. That and dealing with the start of the pandemic during that year, I almost feel less stressed. I had two things going crazy last year--my first year and the pandemic. This year is like okay, you have a gear under your belt, now you just have to deal with the remote instruction. Also, everyone's a little bit more prepared for it. So in that sense, I think I’m less stressed but I do still think it’s stressful. I feel worse for you guys than I do for myself.


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

It depends. Sometimes it can be stressful when you’re encountering all of those unforeseen problems with technology. It can be stressful when you have students signing on late and forgetting to turn on their webcam. In general, the most stressful thing would be having more time to work on lesson planning and giving feedback. I think there’s so much that teachers are doing right now to change things that they’ve done in previous years in order for the hybrid learning model to be effective. Any time that we can get to work on things we need to work on is greatly valued.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

When I’m home teaching remotely I worry if students see my messy room. I worry if my wifi is going to hold up. I worry if students are going to hear my family talking loudly in the background. I worry that my neighbors are going to blast inappropriate music while I’m zooming. I worry if my own kids are in their own zooms and doing their work. As someone who always had wild hair, I've become especially self-conscious looking at myself in the zoom window. Still, with all these worries, I’m thankful that I’m in a safe place with my family.

Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

In general, I tend to not sweat the small stuff. I save my stress for more life changing events. I’m pretty adaptable and flexible so I’m able to manage the situation. With my children, it’s incredibly difficult to figure out childcare options because her school schedule is unpredictable. But other than that, the stress hasn’t been affecting me too much.


Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

Very stressful. I’ll give you an example: when I’m on zoom and I have to share my screen, I have to share and unshare every time I want to show you something different. I think that is really frustrating. Nothing really works the way I want it to work.


Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

A simple task like checking up with groups on group work is far more difficult than how it used to be. Certain elements that have induced stress is the question: how are we going to test our students appropriately? What is the risk of cheating with tests not in-person.


Are you enjoying teaching your students with the hybrid model?


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

Yeah. I’ve had friends ask me that too like “oh do you enjoy it?”. So far, and I don’t see this changing, I love teaching. Whether it’s fully remote, hybrid, fully in person, I don’t see myself not enjoying it.


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

I’m enjoying it as much as I can be enjoying it. Like I said, there are a lot of things that are still not ideal but I’m grateful to still be able to do my job and even have a job.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

Enjoy may not be the right word. I’m thankful to still have a job during the pandemic. I’m thankful for having the tools to allow me to teach remotely and having learned my new technologies in a short period of time. I always have loved to teach but would most prefer having all my students back in the classroom with no threat of anything above a minor cold.

Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

Yes, I am. It’s not the same because the energy in the building is different then usual. We don’t have as many students coming in on a daily basis so you’re missing that laughter, joy and energy in the classroom in the hallway. But you still do get some of that and it’s fulfilling.


Stephanie Rosen--Arts department

I like that I get to see you guys, but it’s not the same.


Derek O’Donnell--Social studies department

I enjoy teaching. I think I’ve had my successes but it really is difficult when you’ve done things in a certain way for a very long time and you’re forced to maneuver and make everything work with this hybrid model. It’s better than asynchronous learning. Obviously it’s not the same as in person school.



How can AHS support you further? Are there any changes you believe should be made to enhance this system?


Mr. Savino, Math Dept. -

I don’t think so. At least on my end, they gave every department a day or two half days to plan and catch up. Wednesdays are done at 12:15 so we can reach out to students and plan. I’m sure other teachers feel differently but on my end, I’m happy.


Ms. Caquias, English Dept. -

I think that if Ardsley continues to keep on giving us the ability to work with our colleagues in our department, that’s something that would help us now and further in the future.


Dr. Rosenfeld (Doc), Science Dept. -

The system so far has kept us reasonably safe. Yes, the phone calls alerting of positive cases and calls for isolation for long periods of time have been unnerving and emotionally traumatic but so far we have thankfully not lost individuals in our school community. Looking towards the future however the best way to enhance the system is perhaps to pause the system. This does not mean to stop teaching or learning but rather do so in the safest manner which is from the safety of our homes. Currently, there are whole countries and large cities that are going into extended lockdowns. Vaccines, once thought to be the panacea for our situation, have been surprisingly slow in their distribution. Additionally, many people have chosen not to be vaccinated if given the opportunity. Moreover, there are two major variants of the virus, the UK and a South African strain, that are highly contagious and unlike the virus of the first wave seem to affect young people. Preservation of life is most important during these times. I want to survive this pandemic along with all my colleagues not only for the sake of our loved ones but also to continue our business of keeping Ardsley as an outstanding school district.


Ms. O’Leary, Language Dept. -

I really like the current model right now. Wednesdays are very helpful for teachers and for students. You’re able to have a flexible support system offered on those wednesdays. I feel that Wednesdays are beneficial to all. The administration and tech department has also been great. Plus it allows less screen time and working at your own pace. I feel supported, happy and good.


Ms. Rosen, Art Dept. -

No. I think they’re doing the best they can with what they’ve got. They bought us technology, they’re giving us licenses for you guys to do things digitally and more.


Mr. O’Donnell, Social Studies Dept. -

I think that consideration towards each other is evident with students and faculty. I think that we should continue this. One of the things that would help us a lot is more training in regards to technology. I mean hands-on training...not a PDF that displays how to do something.



Through these insightful answers of the teachers of AHS, it is stressed that looks can be deceiving. Continue attending school with a positive attitude, thirst for knowledge, and consideration. Ms. Trippodo, Ardsley High School’s principal, leaves this interview off with a vital message to the hardworking teachers of Ardsley: “ I know our teachers truly miss the pre-COVID learning environment and energy in the classroom. Until then our teachers will continue to facilitate learning opportunities in the hybrid and remote environments for our students and teach with the compassion and dedication they have always demonstrated. Our teachers can't wait for the day when students are all in classrooms learning together. I am excited for that day as well.”

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page